National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)


It’s 3 days to go for the National Novel Writing Month to start. NaNoWriMo is the most fascinating novel writing competition which begins on Nov 1st & ends on Nov 30th every year. Thousands of procrastinating novelist take this journey to make their writing dream come true. But, as all of them know it’s not easy to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days along with mundane activities.

I was a participant of NaNoWriMo 2010 & wrote diligently for 15 days finishing 19,000 words of my novel. After the 15 day mark, I found my interest fade away as my story was not moving ahead & other things took priority. I had stopped writing and the guilt of not finishing my novel occupied me on Nov 30th 2010. I thought of participating again in 2011 but my creativity seemed to have taken a vacation. So, it’s been almost 2 years since I wrote a story but I have been thinking about novel ideas all the time. Everytime I am traveling, watching a movie or walking on the road, my mind is trying to find a story somewhere.

As we entered Oct 2012, I decided not to push my dream of becoming a writer any longer. I purchased Chris Baty’s book “No Plot, No Problem” to help me reach the 50,000 word goal. Chris Baty started NaNoWriMo in 1999. The book suggests many ways to keep you motivated to finish your literary journey. One of them was a personal bet. I asked my husband and he has set a bet for me. If I don’t finish NaNoWriMo this year, I would have to cook every single day for another month. If I miss one day, my punishment will increase for another week. Many of you might think it’s not a big deal but for me cooking everyday is a big challenge. I can cook maximum 5 days a week but have hardly cooked 5 days in a row. So, cooking continuously for 30 days is a challenge. So, there it is. My dedication to novel writing vs. cooking for 30 days ;). Good luck to all NanoWriMo participants!

One thought on “National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo)

  1. Pingback: The NaNo Challenge – Suggestions « Carla R. Herrera

Leave a Reply

