THERE IS NO SPOON


We went to IKEA on the day after thanksgiving and brought some NOT MUCH needed stuff. One of them were spoons. After I washed them, I told my husband “Hey..these spoons are like the one in the Matrix- There is no spoon”. My husband laughed and commented “You and your devotion to Matrix”. I was super excited :). Then a theory occurred to me. Let us say, something happened and you got angry. What if at that time, you say to yourself “THERE IS NO SPOON…There is no anger”. Just this one sentence will clear your mind for a moment and your brain will start thinking about why are you angry? Is this anger worth it? Can you really benefit from this negative emotion? Basically, it will break your chain of negative thoughts. I did try this theory and it has worked well for me. By reacting to negative emotions, we are limiting our happiness. The number of times we can be happy can be ALWAYS (Unless there is real catastrophe).

I remember reading this book called ‘Hardwiring happiness’ by Rick Hanson (Will finish it someday..I am slow with non-fiction). In the start of this book, the author explains how we humans are wired to negativity. How bad experiences stick with us more than good ones. He explains it in detail about how we adopted this kind of thinking and with it hardwired our brains to negativity. No wonder we seek a guide to happiness at some point in life.

My husband always says something similar. He says “Be happy all the time and everything will fall into place”. His theory is that if you are happy, your reaction to a particular situation will also be a good one. You will not react as bad as you would if you were in a low mood.

So, next time you see yourself in a bad mood, just say out loud “THERE IS NO SPOON”.

Stay happy stay healthy 😀

Please feel free to comment. I would love to know your thoughts too.

Leave a Reply

